Hank Quense- Falstaff’s Big Gamble

Falstaff's Big Gamble Facebook.com/TheBooknatics

This was an advanced copy that the Author gave me to me in exchange for a review. Thank you, Mr.Quense =)

Take a dash of Shakespeare, pour in a teaspoon of fantasy, and add a gallon of comedy, put it on the fryer and there you have it, a sizzling and joyous novel of adventure and fantasy!
This was one of those books I couldn’t put down once I started. The characters jump right out of the page, scenes so well played out that keep the reader giggling, and facepalming. I got wrapped up in the outrageous troll scenes, twisted plots, running my imagination wild! Constant bickering between the trolls, the ludicrous battle plans, and one very confused elf, are just few of the many gems I found in this book. All your favorite Shakespeare characters are portrayed as Dwarves, Elves, Trolls, in this witty, comical, and adventurous tale of a whole other world called Gundarland. I think this could well be another great Shakespeare-tragedy spoof.
I love how the author takes famous quotes and turn them around slightly to fit the scene, for example, Hamlet and the, “To bee, or not to bee,” in regards of his beekeeping business that he is trying to pursue and establish, even though in spite of his mothers and the new king’s wishes. Hamlet is to revenge his father’s death while Othello has been set up by the grand Godmother. This is one you will have to read for yourself with no spoils!
I will most definitely be recommending this book to everyone I know, and especially the people I game with online who are very much into Lord of the Rings, Everquest 2, and World of Warcraft. Mostly because this is how I envisioned the book. It made the book an even more fun read imagining that the characters were people I have gamed with over the years who played as these certain races.

3 thoughts on “Hank Quense- Falstaff’s Big Gamble

    • Funny thing about this book is that, it’s not exactly YA, it’s simply a comedy. I enjoyed it very much! If you are into Middle Earth, or in my opinion, even MMO’s such as EQ2, WoW, the imagery is set just how you’d imagine your characters coming to life.

Leave a Reply

