So L.A. – Bridget Hoida

LOVE IT!

LOVE IT!

Check her page out here! https://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Bridget-Hoida/321422317872139

I want to start off by mentioning how much I love this cover. By far, the prettiest on my shelf.It’s a racy, realistic, heart wrenching story about a girl from a quiet California town who made it big with her husband in Hollywood’s favorite bottled water industry. Though, with the loss of her brother, the five stages of mourning drives her into foolishness. She realizes she’s tried so hard to be like everyone else in L.A.-plastic and fake with no morals-  and begins to feel as if she’s undeserving of all her success and great new life. She begins to over-think things, causing her to act out in absurd ways.

This is a first point of view into a womans life who yearns to see the light of who she used to be once again, and shed the superficial-mask she’s been hiding behind for so long.

Through insanity, infidelity, and other events, Magdalena finally breaks free of the obstacles of life, getting a grip on her life and finding happiness in the small things.  The ending, ohhh the ending. I won’t dare spoil it, but she definitely reclaimed herself. A true, realistic, bitter sweet happily ever after-of it’s own magical way, that is –  If you ask me, with all the chaos that stirred in this book, the ending is how any story like this should resolve in real life.

I really enjoyed the main character, for all her flaws, for her honest opinions, for everything she wanted to be, so many layers to this character. Hoida hits  life lessons on the spot. I really did enjoy this book, the author did a fantastic job with a refreshing and creative approach of telling a story. There were times I was laughing, times I teared up, and times I really just wanted to reach through the pages and slap the main character around and yell ” DON’T! STOP! You’re so much better than that!” Hoida really held on to my attention,  got me so wrapped up that I found myself needing to re-adjust to my surroundings a few times and gather myself! I hope to see more work from this talented beauty in the near future! Thank you for such a mesmerizing story!

One thought on “So L.A. – Bridget Hoida

  1. Pingback: Links!! | Sky: A Booknatic

Leave a Reply

