The Mortal Instruments, City of Bones – Cassandra Clare

2261214Alright, I am going to be honest. While this is one of my favorite genres to read, I found myself having difficulty to keep focused on the story and put the book down more than a few times. There were many times where the chapters dragged on a little more than it should have, so my mind would go off in la-la land and I’d wonder what I need at the grocery store… 

 I do adore the characters, I really do. But what I find disturbing is that, SPOILER SPOILER SPOILER——-yeah ok, the crush between Clary and Jace was adorable, until you find out they are actually brother and sister! What makes that worse? Is that even after all that drama, she was still fighting feelings for him! Whhhhhhy oh whhhhyyy? Seriously, I hope we later find out they are in fact, NOT related. Why get us attached to a relationship and then kill the mojo like that?
“I AM…Your brother…”

Yeah, I haven’t read the second book yet, I will, once the vile settles in my stomach.   That is my only complaint about this book. The story line itself is great. But, there is much potential for an epic adventure. I cannot wait to finish reading the series and pray that there will not be another awkward encounter. 

To put it simply, Clary finds out that her mother has been keeping a very big secret her whole life to keep Clary safe. After a series of events, from meeting Shadowhunters (Nephilim’s. Human-angel hybrids, who hunt and kill to protect the humans from demons that flood in from other dimensions) at a club only she could see, to her mom disappearing that very same night, she is taken in by the Shadowhunter’s in a hidden Church in Manhattan and is introduced to a whole new world, a world that her and her mother may have come from, and later discovers who she really is, a Shadowhunter. ( I don’t want to make too many spoilers, so I will leave it that)

At first, though, it was a struggle for Clary to be able to accept that the imaginary world of demons, vampires and fairy’s she always thought to be silly was actually so very real and … she actually plays a very big role in it all when she finds out what exactly her mother was being held captive for. The Mortal Cup. A cup that can breed Shadowhunter’s by drinking the blood of an Angel or a powerful Shadowhunter, but can also turn Shadowhunter’s evil by drinking from it. Someone out there wants to build an army of rebellious Shadowhunter’s. Without making any spoilers, Clary and her new friends set off to race in the search for the cup and to rescue her mother from the man searching for the Cup. The end of this book is a whole new type of end-of-story-twist. Craziness after craziness is discovered at the end. I finished the book with whiplash and a wild case of reading-hangover. I do recommend this book to anyone who enjoys YA Paranormal. The characters do have a lot of depth to them, and Clary honestly does have a great style of writing. I just hope the pace picks up a lil more in the series.

Leave a Reply

