Reading, “Lover Enshrined” by J.R. Ward

So, this is book 6 to the Black Dagger Brotherhood series by J.R. Ward. We all know now, that I am such a fan girl for Ward, but I feel the need to say… this series is out of control! Despite my 5 star rating on book 5(My love for her is just that bias), I felt it was rushed, and things didn’t escalate as I had wished.

J.R. Ward is an extremely talented lady, I’ve read all her other work, I know this! But, I feel like I’ve been let down by the end of each book after the third, “Lover Awakened”

My raving review is up on this blog, and if you had read my review before, you would know now that Zsadist is my favorite Brother, and that is my favorite book in the series, by far. Everything was perfect up to the third book! I was so excited! The plot was escalating moving into the next book, and then all of a sudden… this book happened.

Vishous, ohhh Vishous. I loved him so. I still do, but again… I had high expectations for the following books after the third. I was cheering on characters, predicting outcomes, love triangles, battles, I kept telling myself, “Oh, it’s going down! I can’t wait! AH I CAN’T WAIT. It’s going to be SO AWESOMMMEEE.” There were so many opportunities to blow the reader’s mind away! And I felt closer and closer to the edge with every page and then…everything falls flat. Stale. Unexciting. And then, “The end” By the end of many chapters, and especially the endings, I am left to wonder, “Uhm…What about… but he…she could have… No.” — I really don’t want to spoil anything for those who haven’t read this. But I was not happy with the ending. I understand this is paranormal but, there was so much room for climax and we never got the chance to experience it–

But, back to book 6, we are focused on main point of view, of the brother Phury, dude with the funky hair which is repeatedly called “stuff” in every BDB book, and twin of Zsadist. Who happens to be just as broken as his long-lost brother. He is still struggling with his emotions over Bella, Zsadists shellan, but has also reigned as Prime Male, after taking V’s spot. (Chosen Brother warrior who breeds to expand their race) and his chosen mate, Cormia.
I am around page 200 of the book, and so far, it feels as if there’s a possible love triangle. John Matthew, whom recently transitioned into a warrior size vampire, is set up to be Cormia’s friend when Phury can’t be around. Phury is still so love-sick over Bella, he doesn’t pay much attention to Cormia, and though they are set to be mates, he’s oblivious to how beautiful of a female inside and out she actually she is and possible underlying attractions he has for her, until he realized John Matthew has made an impression on her. John is struck by her innocence and curiosity, and they can both relate, because they both feel as though they don’t belong within the holds of the Brotherhood. Phury is taken off rotation after endangering his life and his fellow warriors when he comes careless in his battles with the lessers. The Red Smoke has taken a toll on him, and he struggles the voices and advice of The Wizard in his head. After realizing all the trouble he has caused, he bumps into Cormia in the mansion, and her adoration for him pours out when she see’s the shape he is in, especially after overhearing of the disciplinary actions taken when walking past the Kings office. She coddled him, showers him, and a light breaks through Phury’s gloomy emotions, and see’s Cormia for who she is. He grows envious of John all of a sudden, and ponders his feelings for Cormia, but inevitably is brought back to thinking about Bella. Will he ever be broken of this curse that looms over the impossibility?

I am one of the few who has enjoyed Phury’s actual story, but what bothers me about this book, and the couple previous books, is that there are an overload of POV’s and back stories. While I don’t mind having a few pages dedicated here and there to open up and give us more insight to a few more characters following novels, I feel the pages drag on and onnnn, and we are forced to read more than what’s really needed to get us to the next book. I am so curious of how Phury will overcome his feelings for Bella, but we are taken into the minds of, Rehv and Xhex and their Symphath drama, John Matthew and his transitional problems (I like having his back story in this novel) and then we have Cormia, which is vital for Phury’s main POV, and then we have Qhuinn and Blay’s issues with their feelings.
It’s overwhelming and very distracting, and the books end up being like almost 600 pages long. I honestly feel this should have been a television show on HBO or Sho to give it more justice. I do enjoy reading this series, but I find it a drag more than I really wish I do. Great story line, but sometimes the plot weakens, and endings are rushed. I am keeping my faith that loose ends will be tied and dramatics will climax later in the series, but I wish there were just fewer distractions. What did you guys think of this series?

4 thoughts on “Reading, “Lover Enshrined” by J.R. Ward

  1. Personally, I think they went downhill after Z’s book. I did like parts of the others but none were as good as Z’s. And the new one Lover at Last was a huge disappointment:(

    • That scares me SO much, P.A.! I see it more and more as I read this book. What were your thoughts on the end of the new one? I remember you telling me there was like 9 POV’s. Were they all new characters plus Brothers? I’m afraid that I will end up disliking this series T_T I already skim read through a lot of it, I am ashamed to admit that.

  2. I think the bar was set so high with Z’s book that the books which followed, had a hard time keeping up. It’s not that they were bad. It’s that Z’s was SOOOOooooo good

Leave a Reply

